A month full of chants and cheers and Cheerwine

Hello Sigma Kappa nation!!  After one month on the road I decided it was high time to share my experiences with you all!  So let’s take it back to the very beginning, all the way to August 9th…

I arrived in Clemson, South Carolina, and was immediately greeted by the sunshine (and humidity!)  Walking around the campus of Clemson University, home of Sigma Kappa’s Kappa Pi chapter, I encountered many interesting and beautiful sights…

Like the largest Bur Oak in South Carolina.  Other highlights included:

The serene and beautiful Reflection Pond in front of the library - a great place to read and sit in the shade for a bit.

The lovely ladies of Kappa Pi on Bowman Field for the New Member picnic
The original homestead of the founder of Clemson University

Last weekend, I made my first visit to the women of the Theta Mu chapter at University of North Carolina Charlotte- what a beautiful (and HUGE) campus!  Over 25,000 students attend UNCC.  That weekend the women had scheduled their sisterhood retreat and, lucky for me, I got to help out.  Where did we go?  The beautiful mountains of North Carolina, of course!

The view from the back porch 🙂

We spent the weekend talking about what makes Theta Mu so special and sharing the amazing views with our sisters.  I wish every chapter could have the opportunity to have a sisterhood retreat in these mountains.  We cooked our meals together in the cabin, practiced some chants out in the mountain air, and had a blast!  Here are some more fun pictures…

Caitlin, Mary, Courtney, and Ashley cookin' up the taco meat!
Who doesn't love corn?? How about 4 pounds of corn?

TM Outside group shot 1
The ladies of Theta Mu outside in the NC mountain sunshine.

Alisa and Mallory from Theta Mu

Theta Mus wearing their kickin' new sunglasses- a wonderful gift from the women of Theta Alpha at Appalachian State University!

Back in Charlotte in front of the Theta Mu chapter house- home away from home!

One of my favorite nights we spent was at the Penguin Drive-In and Diner in downtown Charlotte.  The diner was featured on Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives hosted by Guy Fieri on Food Network.  What a cool place to eat!  The diner’s been through a lot over the years but the food has always been outstanding…fried dill pickle chips, homemade corn dogs served “Southern” style, and my delicious, artery-clogging dinner selection:

The "Dixie" fried chicken sandwich... ran an extra mile for this one!

Outside the Penguin Drive-In Diner

So that’s all for now folks!  Can’t wait to see what the next month brings!

Peace, love, and…

XOXO, Willa

One thought on “A month full of chants and cheers and Cheerwine

  1. Not sure how interested SK would be in this, but I am an alumna from Washington State University. I’m also currently an Captain in the 82nd Airborne Division about to head out for my second deployment to Afghanistan. I’d like to write something (and maybe take a few photos of my letters in the combat zone) and maybe have it put in The Triangle? Would that be something SK is interested in? If not, no big deal but I think it’d be neat to gain perspective for so many of the girls about being a female Officer and the challenges of deployment. Dove love! Rachel

Leave a comment