Between the Bros

Christian Feagans, Zeta Pi, Colorado School of Mines
Christian Feagans, Zeta Pi, Colorado School of Mines

When getting to know someone, the question of siblings always comes up. Are you the oldest, youngest, middle, only? In my head I always wonder, is it possible to be all types of sibling? My family is all sorts of confusing, so I’m gonna go ahead and say yes, it is possible to at least have feelings of all four types of siblings. At this point, I’m sure you’re confused, so let me explain.

 

To my mom, I am the second and youngest child. My older brother Jeremy has been a rock for me for my entire life. With 14 years separating us, he has always been there to offer me guidance and advice for whatever life throws at me. I don’t think that I thank him enough for always being there, but it really does mean a lot! Oh, and if you’ve ever heard a sarcastic comment come out of my mouth, you can go ahead and thank him for that too.

j&m

 

To my dad, I am the first and oldest child. I wasn’t blessed with Reuben from the start, but I am so happy that he is part of my life. I know that I can be a bit goofy at times, and even if he shakes his head and shoots me a smirk, he still continues to hang out with me and claim me as his sis. Reuben is a junior in high school, and I can’t wait to continue to watch him grow and see what he chooses to do with his life.

r&d

 

After reading about my two amazing brothers, it clearly makes sense how I am technically the middle child, but what about the only child part? I spent the majority of my time growing up with my mom, and with Jeremy being 14 years older and Reuben living with my dad, I never had that typical growing up with siblings feel. I don’t want to make it sound like I am an only child or don’t appreciate my brothers, I just simply didn’t have the traditional sibling experience.

 

Though my sibling situation isn’t exactly what you would expect, I wouldn’t change it for the world! My relationship with both of my brothers is so unique and special to me, and I am thankful each day that they continue to put a smile on my face and deal with my crazy younger/older sibling antics.

Leave a comment