A Blog About the Word “Sorry”

Brianna McKay, Kappa Eta, Texas Christian University
Brianna McKay, Kappa Eta, Texas Christian University

Hey y’all!

I recently came across a wonderful cartoon that really spoke to me, and inspired this blog post. It brought up some real feelings and thoughts that I have had about the word sorry. I don’t know why, how or when sorry became such a large part of our vocabulary. But I feel as if I am constantly apologizing for things when sorry isn’t the right word.

One day I want to do an experiment and count the number of times I say sorry, or the number of times I hear the word sorry. It has become second nature to apologize for things that don’t necessarily warrant an apology. I think it is wonderful to be polite, don’t get me wrong, but if we say sorry too much doesn’t it make the word less meaningful? When we really need to apologize for something will it have the same impact? These are the questions I have been asking myself and analyzing about the word sorry.

Then I came across this beautiful cartoon that skates the perfect line of being polite and not using the word sorry. The cartoon is titled “Stop saying ‘sorry’ if you want to say thank you.”

 

Source: http://brightside.me/article/stop-saying-sorry-if-you-want-to-say-thank-you-a-seriously-insightful-cartoon-57255/

So here is my plea to all of you reading this. STOP saying sorry and START saying thank you. I truly believe it means more and has more of an impact on you and those around you.

Until next time,

Bri

2 thoughts on “A Blog About the Word “Sorry”

Leave a Reply

