Tips from a Planner Guru

Bianca Pino - Kappa Omicron Chapter, Florida International University
Bianca Pino – Kappa Omicron Chapter, Florida International University

Hey beautiful readers,

I was thinking today about how many people lose track of their New Year resolutions, and as the semester continues sometimes lose their organized streak. Then it hit me, I could help others stick to their goals by teaching how to use a planner! All of my friends always say that I am a planner maniac; I just can’t imagine living without my planner and not using it. So if you’re not sure how to keep yourself organized and keep track of your goals, don’t you worry…The Planner Guru is here! Here is what I use and how I use it:

The Erin Condren Life Planner

ErinCondrenUpcomingPlanners

All of the LCs will tell you how the first day of training I practically gave them a sales pitch on this planner. Needless to say, now most of us have it! These planners do cost a pretty penny but are so worth the price! Not only can you pick either of these layouts, but she just released an hourly planner too. All planners include stickers, a zipper pouch, a mini-folder, and have monthly spreads inside. Another great treat is that the covers are personalized and interchangeable, so you can change the cover of the planner as often as you’d like. I have the vertical Life Planner and will divide the top box for to-dos, the middle box for meetings or events during the day, and the last box to journal about how my day went. The other great thing is that because it does cost a bit, you’ll feel more inclined to use it – I mean you wouldn’t want it to go to waste, right? If you’re interested in a planner, feel free to use my code for a $10 coupon: https://www.erincondren.com/referral/invite/biancapino0902

Staedtler Fineliner Pens & Color Coding

Node-IOGLO000030000900001000040000H0001M0001L0000E000020000J0001Y0000200DNY.ViewAsset

So the best pens I’ve found so far are these Staedtler fineliner pens. They do not bleed through the paper, the ink is vibrant, and you have so many choices of colors! Along with these pens, the real secret behind it is making sure you color code all of your tasks and events. I made a key that I easily attached to my planner that told me the meaning behind each specific color. You can do a different color for each involvement or priority, or you can do them based off of campus events or deadlines – all up to you!

 

ScribblePrintsCo Stickers & More

photo-16

My last little addition to my planner is all the stickers I use to decorate my planner! My favorite store is ScribblePrintsCo on Etsy, but you can find so many for all kinds of things you might do on your day-to-day. Now there are some people that decorate their planner over the top, but that isn’t necessary to make sure you stay organized. Getting a few stickers here and there can help you structure your to-do lists, remind you to do certain tasks that week, and just add a little bit of spark to your page so you’ll feel happy each time you look at your planner!

Last tips to complete your planner

  • When you mark your deadlines on your planner, put tasks that you know you would typically procrastinate doing a day or two before they are actually due.
  • Use post-it notes to write down dates or deadlines that are happening in the future and mark them in the appropriate weekly spread. This way when it gets to that week, you can make sure you organize the week completely and don’t have to worry about whiting out cancelled plans in between.

And that’s about it! I just released a video on my YouTube channel, Life As Binx, with a bit more detail on how I organize my planner and the rest of my room so go check that out for more tips & tricks. Best of luck this semester!

Adios,

Bianca

 

 

Leave a Reply

