The Art of Journaling

Alyssa Ramsey - Delta Chi Chapter, University of Central Oklahoma
Alyssa Ramsey – Delta Chi Chapter, University of Central Oklahoma

As you all know, this year has been full of many new experiences for me. From moving hours away from home, to transitioning from being a college student to working in the real world, to living on my own. Much has changed and with change comes amazing things. One of my friends suggested that I start keeping a journal to remember this monumental phase of my life. I was hesitant at first, because I didn’t feel like I had time. But, I bought a journal anyway, and I must say it is my new favorite way to end my day.

Journaling

Here are just a few reasons why I love journaling and suggest everyone try it out:

  1. I can put on my favorite Ben Rector song after a long day and just take a few minutes to write down all my thoughts for the day and express myself.
  2. I have a restless mind when I go to fall asleep, and have found that writing down all my thoughts helps me clear my mind and fall asleep much easier.
  3. Had a bad day? I have found “sandwiching” to be the best method to handle those tough writes. I start by writing the good things that happened that day, in the middle I write about why my day was bad, then at the end finish up with what I am thankful for and looking forward to. This is a great way to get out all the bad, but leave your brain thinking about all the good things going on in your life.
  4. Every day is a new day, and you are constantly changing, it will be something you will cherish 10 years down the road…being able to look back and see how far you have come.

So if you don’t already journal, I suggest you try it out! It’s a great way to keep track of daily memories and to clear your mind.

Until next time,

-XOXO- Alyssa

One thought on “The Art of Journaling

  1. I am a big fan of journaling. Last year I joined the Facebook group Journal52, but discovered I am not an artist! But I suspect that I could be, so a resolution for 2016 will be to keep up with the prompts. Great post! Keep it up.

Leave a Reply

