My Very Musical Best Friend

Jessica Cunningham, Epsilon Tau, California State University, Fullerton
Jessica Cunningham, Epsilon Tau, California State University, Fullerton

Who doesn’t love music? I know I do and music has always been a big part of my life. I remember rounding up my little sisters when we were younger, popping in my N’sync CD, and making up dance routines to show our parents. Yes, I said N’sync! Destiny’s Child was another one of our favorites. Can you pay my bills? Can you pay my telephone bills? At that age, I didn’t have to pay a single bill but you wouldn’t have known that by the way I sang along! Destiny's childIt always feels good to let out some energy and stress by dancing along to your favorite song. I think music is truly therapeutic. It can change your mood, relieve stress and even help with various conditions or ailments. Having a health science degree, I’ve learned that music works on both the autonomic nervous system and the limbic system. That means music can affect our blood pressure, heartbeat and even our feelings and emotions.

Dancing

Music has been one of my best friends lately. Yes, that may sound kind of odd, but think about it. Music will be there for you whenever you need it. Since I’m constantly on the go, sometimes friends and family aren’t available to chat so who do I go to? Music, of course. Technology has made listening to music so much easier. With Pandora, Spotify and iTunes radio you can select the exact genre and song that you are looking for to fit your mood.

So now you’re probably saying, “Jess, there has to be more to this.” Well you’re in luck because there is. Music understands you, it just gets you. How many times have you been listening to a song that you felt was explaining your life or what you were feeling? It’s kind of crazy how much music can know about you without you saying anything. Just like a best friend.

Music is also the best gym partner. It will never cancel on you and can pump you up to stay motivated. Music can also cheer you up when you are sad or give you strength when you may need it. There are definitely songs that have helped me through tough times or given me inspiration. So for all of these reasons I say……..music

Time to Jet,

Jess

Leave a Reply

