For All Those Halloweenies Like Me

Alyssa Ramsey - Delta Chi Chapter, University of Central Oklahoma
Alyssa Ramsey – Delta Chi Chapter, University of Central Oklahoma

So October may be my favorite month, but Halloween has to be my least favorite holiday… why? Because I am the biggest scaredy cat known to man. Just ask any of my friends or family. Scary movies? No. Creepy costumes? No. Haunted houses? NO. I can’t do anything scary or I will be sleeping with my lights on for weeks. So what is an October baby to do to enjoy this holiday?

Here’s ways I enjoy the holiday season without the scariness!

  1. Pumpkin Patches – No matter how old I get I will always be a sucker for a good pumpkin patch. These pictures were taken at the Boone Hall Plantation Pumpkin Patch! They even have “fright nights” but of course you wouldn’t catch me dead there after dark.
    Some of the College of Charleston colony members wanted to make sure I didn't take on Boone Hall alone
    Some of the College of Charleston colony members wanted to make sure I didn’t take on Boone Hall alone.

    I may or may not have waited behind a 2 year old to have my picture taken on the tractor
    I may or may not have waited behind a 2 year old to have my picture taken on the tractor.
  2. Hocus Pocus – No sane child of the 90’s doesn’t LOVE this movie. I could watch it everyday if possible. I may or may not be guilty of watching this even in the summer time. No shame.Hocus Pocus
  3. Family Traditions – This has to be my favorite part of the season. Every year since I was born, my family takes a trip to Branson, Missouri to Silver Dollar City. It makes for a great few days in a beautiful place with amazing food, fun roller coasters, AND nothing scary in sight! In fact when we make the trip they are already transitioning to Christmas decorations. The best part? The long weekend spent with family, because no matter what holiday it may be, every holiday is better with family by your side.
    Two of my cousins cuddled up at Silver Dollar City
    With two of my cousins cuddled up at Silver Dollar City
    The BEST food known to man. An apple dumpling with cinnamon ice cream and caramel drizzle. It's to die for.
    The BEST food known to man. An apple dumpling with cinnamon ice cream and caramel drizzle, it’s to die for!

    There really was more family there, but the ladies man had us under his spell
    There really was more family there, but the ladies man had us under his spell

So whether you love the thrills and scares that come with the Halloween season, or you’re a Halloweenie like me, I hope you all have a Happy Halloween!

-xoxo- Alyssa

Leave a Reply

