I’ve Rekindled an Old Flame…

Cora Johnson - Kappa Phi Chapter, Florida Atlantic University
Cora Johnson – Kappa Phi Chapter, Florida Atlantic University

…with my love for fall. While pretending to be a Floridian for the past 4 years was wonderful, I’ve forgotten how much I appreciate participating in the normal fall festivities while not wearing a bathing suit at the beach. Although fall has just begun, I am in full season mode, besides adoring the change of colors in the leaves, below are a few of my seasonal favorites!

Candles (the rekindled old flame pun)

There is something about coming home after a long day on campus, putting on fuzzy socks, and lighting a candle that makes me feel like I’m superwoman for a few hours and can tackle any spreadsheet thrown my way. I love that I can do this now, because in Florida it didn’t set easy in my mind to snuggle up with a blanket and a candle when I just got back from tanning at the beach.

image1

Sweather: Sweater Weather

Sweater wearing weather is simply the best time of the year because sweaters are simply the best. You can wear sweaters in Florida, and in fact, I have been that desperate to try and participate in fall; however, the heat does not condone it.

Pumpkin

I don’t feel like I need to elaborate on why I love pumpkin everything, but here are a few of my favorite things that come from pumpkin season!

  • Pumpkin Carving
  • Pumpkin Seeds from the carving
  • Pumpkin Pie
  • Pretty much any gluten-free pumpkin-related dessert should be on this list
  • And lastly, but absolutely not least, the pumpkin spice latte from Starbucks
Drinking a hot PSL while walking outside to class wearing shorts and flip flops just didn’t seem legal in my mind.

Cider Mills

The last and my ABSOLUTE favorite thing about fall is one I haven’t been able to do in 4 years, so I am finally looking forward to it! When I lived in Michigan, some of my favorite memories were made at the Franklin Cider Mill down the street from our house when my dad would take me. So being able to relive those memories and being embraced within fall at its finest is going to be the high point of my first fall in years.

image2

Peace Out Home Slice of Gluten-Free Bread

CJ

Leave a Reply

