We’re going on a … Stay-cation

Taryn Mantta, Zeta Pi, Colorado School of Mines
Taryn Mantta, Zeta Pi, Colorado School of Mines

A few weekends ago, I got to fly back home to Los Angeles for my birthday. As I’ve gotten older, I’ve realized that the best present is making new memories. Last year, I went to DisneyWorld with my mom and this year, my whole family stayed in Los Angeles for a stay-cation (it’s like a vacation where you stay home) and I got to decide what we did.

Day 1: Haircut Day! Okay lets be honest, this was the relaxing day but I have short hair and travel for months at a time… sometimes a haircut is number one on my priority list!

Day 2: Catalina Island!

Catalina is an island right off the coast of California, about an hour boat ride away. This island has a lot of fun activities and over the years my family has come here a few times and done a lot of these activities. This trip we took the first boat over to the island at 9 a.m., had lunch soon after getting on the island and then took a semi-submersible submarine where you get to look out of windows and see fish! At the end of the ride, they let you up to the top deck of the submarine and cruise around the harbor.

Note to self: Next time you ride outside on a boat, bring a hat
Note to self: Next time you ride outside on a boat, bring a hat
Fishys... Fishys everywhere!
In the submarine. Fishys… Fishys everywhere!
The city of Avalon, from the the Harbor cruise.
The city of Avalon, from the the Harbor cruise.

After the submarine, we headed over to the activity that we went to the island for… Ziplining! If you’ve never gone ziplining, it’s definitely something to check out! You are strapped into a harness which is then attached to a line above your head and you leave one platform and slide on that line to the next platform. The zipline in Catalina has 5 different lines and 3 of these lines had INCREDIBLE views of the harbor (did I mention it was an absolutely beautiful day!) All you have to do is let go with one hand and it turns your body so that you can face the harbor.

Such an awesome view from one of the zipline platforms!
Such an awesome view from one of the zipline platforms!
My family had way too much fun!
My family had way too much fun!

After the zipline, we walked around the island until the last boat boarded and headed home.

Day 3: Disneyland!

Disneyland is exciting for everyone! I have had the privilege that my dad has worked for Disney my whole life and thus, we get free tickets. Needless to say I’ve been to Disneyland a lot. I don’t have really any pictures from this day, but I did see Jasmine and Aladdin walking around the park, which isn’t an everyday thing.

Day 4: Safari in Malibu!

When I was in High School, I went to the beach in Malibu nearly every day. I would drive down there and one day, I could have sworn I saw a zebra through the trees while driving down Mulholland highway. I eventually realized that there was a ranch with a few zebras, some camels and other animals… in the middle of Malibu. The Saddleback Ranch is a vineyard and the family that lives on the ranch likes animals and has a lot of them. I found out that this ranch does tours and that ended up on our list of things to do during my birthday trip. Here’s a list of animals we saw that day: bison, a donkey, a shetland pony, llamas, alpacas, yaks, waterbuffalo, zebras, camels and a giraffe.

On a modified truck that we drove around the ranch on!
On a modified truck that we drove around the ranch on!
Feeding a zebra named Rafiki!
Feeding a zebra named Rafiki!
Petting Rafiki!
Petting Rafiki!
From the top of one of the hills overlooking Malibu!
From the top of one of the hills overlooking Malibu!

I had a multiple day birthday extravaganza with my family, made lots of great new memories and couldn’t have wished for better!

Leave a Reply

