Bacon.

Danielle Hall, Alpha Theta, University of Louisville
Danielle Hall, Alpha Theta, University of Louisville

I think it is safe to say that it has become a fad in today’s society to openly express a love for bacon. I’m a part of this overwhelmingly large group of people that feel the need to not only enjoy bacon, but create a lifestyle around the LOVE for it. For me, it all started with appreciating the simple, yet wonderful B.L.T. sandwich. Now, I can’t remember the last time I wasn’t immediately drawn to the menu options that include bacon. Below are some of my bacon “favorites.”

Fast Food Option: The Baconator (or Junior) from Wendy’s.

th

Recipe I Have Successfully Completed: Bacon Wrapped Asparagus

bacon asparagus

Dessert Item: Bacon Maple Donut

bacon donut

It has become popular to also have bacon-flavored items. I have tried many of these, including an enticing box of bacon-flavored popcorn, but it just isn’t the same. There are, however, a few bacon-flavored items that I would suggest staying VERY far away from: bacon lip balm, bacon toothpaste and bacon soap. The smell of bacon cooking is the most wonderful way to wake up in the morning, but the smell of bacon on your breath and body is not to be encouraged.

I do however fully support the trend toward bacon-themed household items! For bacon lovers such as myself there are bacon pajamas, bacon wall art, and even gifts for friends of bacon lovers. Below is one item that I tried to get my mom for Mother’s Day this past year…but she sadly didn’t appreciate the gift as much as I did. It was a lesson that sometimes “it’s the thought that counts” is NOT all that matters!

Non-edible Related Bacon Item: I Love You More than Bacon Coffee Mug (WARNING: the recipient may not be as thrilled as you are.)

bacon mug

When in doubt, get the bacon.

Until next time,

Danielle Hall

Leave a Reply

