Of Tables and Fate

Gabrielle Della Pesca, Kappa Upsilon, The College of New Jersey
Gabrielle Della Pesca, Kappa Upsilon, The College of New Jersey

As a residential LC, I have had the unique experience of helping our newest chapters prepare for some of their first recruitment seasons! I also recently had the privilege of visiting Robert Morris University to help LC Kira (hey girl, hey!) prepare for our colonization on that campus. With all this talk of new chapters and the process of joining Sigma Kappa, I have been thinking about my own journey once upon a time when I joined as a colony member of Kappa Upsilon Chapter at The College of New Jersey (TCNJ). When you really boil the story down, I suppose you could say that it started with a table.

When Sigma Kappa colonized at TCNJ, I was working in ResLife (as all the cool kids do) and one night I was running late (shocker!) for my office shift. As I barreled through the building to the ResLife office, I found the door to the office was blocked by a rather large table that had more maroon and lavender paraphernalia on it than I had ever seen in my life. Though I was running late, I knew it would be rude to shimmy past the table and the very nice ladies staffing it without saying a word. And so, I cautiously introduced myself and listened while LC Talah and LC Brooke (hey girls, hey!) pitched the Sigma Kappa experience and filled my arms with pamphlets, flyers, and free Sigma Kappa chapstick! As I said goodbye and began my office shift, there were two very important thoughts running through my head:

  1. Wow, those ladies are incredibly awesome and they completely shatter every stereotype I’ve ever seen about “sorority girls.” Plus, the organization sounds really cool and I’ve been looking for an opportunity to be a part of something that has the potential to change my life. A sorority was never in my “college plan,” but being able to help start a chapter WHILE making friends, doing service, and being a leader sounds like a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity.
  2. THIS IS THE BEST CHAPSTICK OF ALL TIME!

And that, my friends, is why I joined Sigma Kappa.

So the next time you are running late for work and some sorority girls with a table are blocking your path, know that it might just be fate knocking at your door.

10446481_10202252017285185_7518886265785064014_n

Until next time,

Gabby

Leave a Reply

