Life Lessons from Ferris Bueller

Taryn Mantta
Taryn Mantta

Growing up around Los Angeles, I have always had a very close connection to movies. Movies can make you laugh, make you cry, and sometimes teach life lessons that can be extremely important.

I don’t remember the first time I watch Ferris Bueller’s Day Off, but I know I was young. At this young age, I wanted to be Ferris Bueller. He ditched class (what a rebel) to drive a Ferrari around Chicago, dance on parade floats, and hang out with his friends. Oh, what a fun day! At one point, Ferris breaks the fourth wall (talks directly to the camera) and drops the most important piece of advice little Taryn had ever heard.

Image
That vest! I could never pull that off.

“Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it”

This quote is pretty similar to ‘stop and smell the roses,’ and I’m sure there are 100 other idioms about enjoying the moment, but my buddy Ferris was the one who actually got through to me. I think it is something anyone can relate to at any time in life.

I believe that some of the best things in life are not planned. The adventures you choose to go on will always be much more memorable than the everyday activities. Say yes when someone asks you to go get ice cream. Take that drive to a new place and go exploring. Go dance in the rain even when you have so much to do that it’s bleeding out of your ears. Keep your phone away and focus on the people that you are spending your time with. Choose to say yes and open yourself to those new opportunities.

Life goes by incredibly fast. It’s important to stop and take advantage of the moment because you never know when that opportunity will present itself again.

Leave a Reply

