Spontaneity is a Virtue my Friends!

Autumn Breeden
Autumn Breeden

For those of you who know me at all, you are aware that my comfort zone is following a schedule and planning in advance. So when the weather threw a wrench in my plans, you can only imagine my stress level!

The plan was to take the LSAT (standardized test for law school admission) in Oregon while on a chapter visit to the Upsilon Chapter at Oregon State University. But, an uncharacteristic winter storm changed my plans. If you think back, the Pacific Northwest was recently surprised by winter storm Orion, and Corvallis saw the greatest snowfall in the area. 18 inches to be exact. The real kicker of this story is that this area in Oregon owns only two snowplows….is this real life?? Needless to say, we were snowed in Thursday – Monday. But, lucky for Jaynie and me, we were with an incredibly hospitable, fun and friendly chapter!

The lessons learned from this experience are:

1. Spontaneity and patience are two virtues that I am severely lacking. I’m not sure that I will ever be a spontaneous person, but I am learning to be as patient as possible when things are out of your control.

2. Support systems are absolutely necessary for success, whether it’s your fellow consultant, boyfriend, friends from college or your parents. If you don’t have anyone pushing you to grow, pushing you to keep trying, or telling you that everything will be okay, then you are in a lonely place.

3. And at some point in time, you will realize that everything happens for a reason. This doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t fight for what you want, but finding joy in the journey is important as well.

If you are wondering how this whole LSAT is cancelled thing will work out, I will have a retake (in Oregon) sometime in the near future. So until next time, cross your fingers for me and send some positive vibes!!

-A

Leave a Reply

