Let Me Be Brave in My Attempt

Jacqueline Newell
Jacqueline Newell

Admittedly, I have always been a competitive person, but last week I participated in a couple of events that helped me realize competition isn’t always necessary for every game. While visiting Western Kentucky University, I had the opportunity to meet Katie, a young woman who is one stellar Special Olympics athlete. I first met Katie when I was invited to play basketball at the local community center. Katie told me all about her basketball team and that it doesn’t matter if they win or lose, she really cares about sportsmanship. (She also totally kicked my butt at bowling later in the week!)

Inside the gym was a banner that shared the motto of the Special Olympics:

Let me win. But if I cannot, let me be brave in my attempt.

I haven’t been able to stop thinking about that motto all weekend, and I think it is something that will continue to stick with me. In life, we all want to be successful and reach our end goals, but we don’t often consider the journey that gets us there.

So this year, as a 2014 challenge, I encourage you all to remember the Special Olympics motto, and even if you’re not the best at whatever it is that you will be doing, be brave in your attempt.

One thought on “Let Me Be Brave in My Attempt

Leave a Reply

