Let’s go to the Movies!

Taryn Mantta
Taryn Mantta

One of my favorite things in the whole world of entertainment are book to movie adaptations. Now, before you tell me how bad they can be, yes, I know that some don’t go all that well. Think back, though. As bad as some of these movies can be, when they go well, the results are magical.

mockingbirdFirst up is not only my favorite book, but a great movie as well: To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee.

Many movie adaptations do a good job, but this one does a GREAT job. It takes me right into Maycomb Co., Ala. during the dramatic early years of Scout Finch’s life. It also perfectly portrays Atticus Finch, Scout’s father, who is one of my favorite characters ever written. In addition to being a great screenplay, the actors and actresses could not have been chosen better. Fun fact: Author Harper Lee loved Gregory Peck’s (Atticus) performance so much that after her father died, she gave Peck her father’s pocket watch.

MV5BNTEyMjAwMDU1OV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNDQyNTkxMw@@._V1_SY317_CR1,0,214,317_Next, we have a trilogy of epic proportions, at least that’s what the nerd in me would say. The one and only: Lord of the Rings by J.R.R Tolkien.

Part of the reason I have to include this adaptation in this post is that they are just so awesomely impressive. The movies do a great job of taking the books and making them easily understandable in 11.3 hours (well, that’s how long the extended versions take) If you don’t trust me and haven’t seen them, this video gives a great summary in 99 seconds.

c520cffcb82abde59eefae249a2851bdThis next one is one that I’m trusting people on because I haven’t yet been able to see the movie (it’s only been in theaters a couple weeks): The Lone Survivor by Marcus Luttrell.

I have very high hopes for this movie because this book had me feeling 900 emotions all at one time. Multiple times I caught myself sobbing, laughing and smiling all at the same time. It’s an eyewitness account of the training and wartime operations of Navy SEALs. The title of the book should serve as a warning to your emotions. Tip of the Day: Don’t read on an airplane unless you find sobbing uncontrollably on an airplane to be fun.

Divergent_(book)_by_Veronica_Roth_US_Hardcover_2011Here’s my prediction for the next big book to movie adaptation: Divergent by Veronica Roth.

The first time I read this book, I said it was going to be big and the movie is now on its way. I would place it in the same genre of The Hunger Games with a little bit of The Giver thrown in for a bit of fun. The movie comes out March 21, 2014, and I don’t know if it will be good, but I know my fingers are crossed.

Vampire_AcademyNow this one I know someone will think is funny, but I am unreasonably excited for this adaptation: Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead.

Now let me premise this by saying these books are much more well-written than a certain series that I won’t name. I know the cover doesn’t make it seem that way, but there’s a lot more emotion behind them. I read them as they came out (which always makes them more dear to my heart). These are not books I read to learn something new, but rather when my head was so full of school that I needed a quick, easy read. The movie has the potential to be awful, but you never know until you see it 🙂

That would be the end of my list, but let’s not forget J.K. Rowling and Harry Potter. I don’t think I need to explain what it is, but I couldn’t make this list without mentioning it.

If you haven’t read or seen these, I’d suggest checking them out. If they don’t seem like your cup of tea, that’s okay too!

Additional fun fact: If you read Molly’s blog last week, she mentioned Gone Girl, which has a movie adaptation coming out near the end of this year.

-T

One thought on “Let’s go to the Movies!

Leave a Reply

