I’m Going on an Adventure!

Taryn Mantta
Taryn Mantta

I borrowed the title for this blog from the first movie installation of the Hobbit. Bilbo Baggins shouts this as he runs to join the dwarfs on the adventure that the stories center on. When I think about Sigma Kappa, I can’t help but think about the adventure that it has been in the past four-and-a-half years. At the beginning, I was just like Bilbo, running into the unknown.

There is something special about seeing the spark in someone’s eyes as they begin to understand what Sigma Kappa can be. I’ve always loved the new member ceremony for this reason. As the new members receive their new member pins, they don’t exactly know what they are joining. There is no way for them to know the adventures they will have on this journey or the friends they will make. They join our organization and then learn about what it means to truly be a Sigma Kappa.

My New Member Ceremony in 2009 (top left)
My new member ceremony in 2009 (top left)

Until Dec. 2, 2013, I thought that I understood Sigma Kappa, or at least how it related to me. On that day, I went through Order of the Triangle and everything changed. It was that day that I looked around and saw just how much I had gained and learned from Sigma Kappa. Not only did I find sisters that I can’t imagine being without, but I have become a more confident woman.

My Sigma Kappa family at my Order of the Triangle
My Sigma Kappa family at my Order of the Triangle (middle)

Now I am getting ready to start my leadership consultant adventure, and who knows what my relationship with Sigma Kappa will be like when I’m done. Wherever you are in your Sigma Kappa adventure, try to think back to those first moments and how you have changed because of the sorority you joined and the people you have met.

-T

One thought on “I’m Going on an Adventure!

  1. Taryn, I heard you’ll be coming to visit Alpha Sigma chapter in a few weeks, and we are SO excited to meet you! I’m so glad to have read above that Sigma Kappa is and continues to be an important part of your life, and we are so fortunate that our chapter will be part of your Sigma Kappa journey this year! Can’t wait to meet you!
    Laura C.

Leave a Reply

