Giving Thanksgiving its Day

Amy Gallagher
Amy Gallagher

Happy November, everyone!

The Boston Common trees are strung with lights. The Frog Pond is being transformed into an outdoor ice skating rink for the winter months. The Starbucks on Northeastern’s campus has brought out the holiday cups. Netflix is now streaming Love, Actually and The Polar Express. Holiday season preparation is in full swing.

For me, the first step of the holiday season is spending the weeks leading up to Thanksgiving reflecting on what I am thankful for, in full November fashion.

I am thankful for my wonderful support system during my time as a leadership consultant. I am thankful for my mother and her level head. I am thankful for my loving boyfriend. I am thankful for my friends who try so hard to understand my hectic schedule and still manage to make time for me.

I am thankful for Sigma Kappa as an organization for all I have learned through my membership. I am also thankful for all of the people it has brought into my life. I am thankful for my big, my littles, the women of Beta Eta, my two LC teams, my supervisor Brooke and the rest of the staff, volunteers and members I have met during my travels.

I am thankful for the simple things like a warm jacket, a hot coffee made just right, the train coming quickly on a chilly day, a good movie, and a comfortable sweater.

I am thankful for my health and the health of those around me. I am thankful for the opportunities I have had in my life and continue to have every day. I am thankful for all of the love and happiness in my life each day.

While Boston has yet to have the first snowfall of the season, I can already smell wood-burning stoves hard at work in nearby homes. Yes, even in the middle of the city. As the days get shorter and the temperatures get colder, I am ready for the holiday season to approach, but not until after Thanksgiving has its day.

Until next time,
Amy

*Note: At the time of publishing, Boston has had its first snowfall. Sorry Amy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

