The Sunshine State

Francesca Gomes
Francesca Gomes

Well, it has been just about two months since I moved to Florida, also known as the Sunshine State. One of the things I thought when I was first settling in was: What kind of sunshine state is this? It rains almost every day!

Growing up, I was never a huge fan of rain. I have always associated rain with gloominess and sadness. I definitely was not one of those children that wanted to throw on a pair of rain boots and splash in puddles. In my mind, that was gross and I disliked getting dirty. Instead, I would prefer to stay inside, and then I would feel like the rain kept me cooped up the entire day.

Reflecting on my experiences of being a leadership consultant has allowed me to see the wet weather in a different light. Not every single chapter visit is perfect or else there would be no need for us. Not every single day living with a new chapter goes 100 percent according to plan either. There are always more educational moments to be had and lessons to be learned through experiencing them. Personally, there are some days that are tougher to get through and days I feel more homesick than others.

My mom likes to remind me that when I was little, I would come home from school every day and tell her “Mom! Today was the best day of my life!” Maybe I have learned since then that not every day can be the absolute best day in the history of days, but I have found that there is good in each day. I am still able to find the positive every day, even if not every situation is ideal. But, it is up to me to be optimistic and run with it. Nobody can force me to see things differently.

Back when each day was the best day of my life!
Back when each day was the best day of my life!

When it rains here in Florida, it rains for a brief period and then it moves on. I have learned not to let the weather stop me in my tracks, dampen my mood, or determine whether the day will be a good one or a bad one. Rain is great for so many things that I appreciate, so why not look at the bright side of stormy weather like I do with my daily encounters? When I am having rough days and things are not going 100 percent my way, I don’t let that stop me. I keep moving forward and looking at the bright side of things.

I have learned that it is up to you to create your own happiness in every situation. Don’t let something as minor as the weather bring you down. Choose to be happy! Choose to see the good in everything. As Leo Tolstoy once said, “If you want to be happy, be.” My challenge to you is to make every day a happy day, rain or shine.

Until next time…

xoxo,

Francesca

Leave a Reply

