Find One Good Thing

Jacqueline Newell
Jacqueline Newell

I don’t remember the first moment she said it, but my mom has always encouraged me to find at least one good thing that happens every single day. Whether is has been a stellar day or one that was a little cloudy, I have always followed my mother’s advice and tried to Momtake advantage of the good things – both big and small. From mom’s enthusiasm for the pickle on her sandwich to my chance to go ice skating, anything and everything can make a day better. Highlighting the positives in your day can completely turn around your day and change your attitude in less than a minute.Madison

JackieAfter a little while of reflecting on my own, I realized that it just wasn’t enough to ask myself “what’s at least one good thing that happened to you today?” As a Jacob 2result, I started asking my friends about Samtheir days but, more specifically, what their one thing is. Not only have I received more insight to what my friends LynchMollyare doing with their lives, I’ve slowly started spreading my mother’s inspiration further. By helping others see KatieGabbysomething positive in their day, I have been able to make something positive in my day.

And although this may seem like a plug for how great my mom is [it is], what I want readers to take away from this is how easy it is to drive your life in the direction you want it to go. Additionally, I hope everyone realizes how easy it can be to help someone else change their day around.

The best thing that happened to me today was getting the chance to talk to my family and  remembering that this picture exists.

My family practicing their poses
My family practicing their poses

JacquelineNewell

Leave a Reply

