Top 10 Survival Tips for Recruitment

Autumn Breeden
Autumn Breeden

10. Time Management!

We all know that the beginning of school can be overwhelming, you haven’t had homework in 3 months, and you aren’t used to having to go to bed early so you can get up early. But when you add recruitment on top of all of the other commitments you have, you need to manage your time to make sure nothing is neglected. One thing I would recommend is to bring something to work on. There will most likely be a little bit of down time somewhere in the schedule, and if you can use it to your advantage to get a little reading done, or to work on an assignment, you will be ahead of the curve when you get home late at night. My favorite time management tool is my planner!

9. Have a good attitude!

Having a good attitude is a good skill to practice for a lot of aspects in life, because let’s face it, we won’t always love our job, our classes, or who we have to spend time with. But if we make the best of a situation then we can spread a little love. The tip I have for keeping a good attitude in a less than ideal situation is to remember the end result. For example, in recruitment, when I get down I remind myself that the end result of the stressful and tiring process is NEW MEMBERS!! Woohoo!

8. Be on time!

My supervisor Brooke regularly reminds the leadership consultant team that, “To be early is to be on time, to be on time is to be late, and to be late is absolutely unacceptable!” So I always try to arrive 5-10 minutes early. This is a great practice to get in the habit of because it allows you a cushion in case there is traffic, trouble finding a parking spot, or if you get there and realize that you need to do something. Try it out, you will feel way less flustered when the events begin!

7.  Beautiful hair that stays!

Hairspray is a girl’s best friend! This is my favorite, but really any drug store or Walmart hairspray will do (PS. My mom will probably kill me when she reads this. She’s a professional hairstylist!!)

Garnier Fructis Hairspray from Wal-Mart
Garnier Fructis Hairspray from Walmart

Teasing and volume is something that is very new to me, but these are the essentials I use when I tease my hair!

6.  Shape your assets!

I am a firm believer in flaunting what you got! But when I am running around during crazy recruitment and do not have time to glance in the mirror between events, there is something that helps me know I am looking my best! I have found that wearing my shapewear underneath my recruitment clothing boosts my confidence that I am putting my best foot forward. Some of the shape wear that I love most are:

5.  Shoes are your key to comfort!

Recruitment is a time to go all out and wear fabulous shoes, but it shouldn’t be at the expense of your comfort! We all know that recruitment usually entails countless hours on your feet. So here are a few products you can pick up at your local drug store or Walmart to make those fabulous shoes fabulously comfortable too!

4. Take care of your health!

Two things I do to take care of my health are to take vitamins and use Emergen-C.  Here are my two favorites!

Both are from Wal-Mart
Both are from Wal-Mart

3. Eat regularly!!

We all know that eating meals during recruitment can be tricky, so some of my personal favorite things to snack on during recruitment are Clif Bars and almonds!

Both are from Wal-Mart
Both are from Wal-Mart

2. Sleep as much as possible!

This one is pretty self-explanatory! But, you need sleep to function and stay healthy. If I can’t get a full night of sleep I like to sneak in some cat naps during the day. I find that 20-minute naps leave me feeling refreshed when I wake up instead of groggy and sleep deprived.

1. Be Confident!

Finally, BE CONFIDENT! I can’t say this enough. When you have confidence in yourself, others can feel it too. It’s contagious!

Now go out there and get the most amazing new members!

The women of Beta Omega - University of Nebraska Omaha and I before Skit Night!
The women of Beta Omega – University of Nebraska Omaha and me before Skit Night!
Gabi, the VPM of Theta Omicron and I doing PR on the Patio at Arizona State!
Gabi, the VPM of Theta Omicron and me doing PR on the Patio at Arizona State!
Leave a Reply

