Old Friends, New Friends

Sue Buyrn
Sue Buyrn

My, my…where has the time gone? The journey is quickly coming to an end, but in many ways, this journey will stay with me forever. Since June 2012, every relationship I have held has been long-distance. When you hear long-distance relationship, you typically think of a romantic partnership…however, this time I’m referring to my friendships.

I would not have survived life as an LC without my friends, old and new. I knew it would be a challenge this year to stay in contact with those who mean a lot to me. Not because I didn’t want to, but because  people, including me, get wrapped up in what they’re around. Transitioning from college to the “real world” is hard enough: you have to become adjusted to new environments, make new friends, learn how to succeed again, and how to be happy again. At the beginning of this year, I felt like I was starting college all over…every five days [which mind you, I hated my first two months of college]. Add in the priority of staying in touch and sometimes it’s all downright impossible.

I could have done better this year…I feel like I say that about just about everything I do. I did really try though, and as it comes to the end, I’m happy with where many of my friendships stand. Although I may have seen some of them twice in the past nine months, when we finally do talk our friendship is still the same. Thank you to my old and dear friends, for seeing me when I was able, for understanding when I was absent, and for encouraging me to continue on through this journey that has taught me so much.

And speaking of encouragement, I must mention my new friends. There has been no greater encouragement this year than by the people I have met on the road. The many women who took me in and made me feel welcome, the staff at headquarters who supported me, and especially to my team, who I can’t imagine what being an LC would have been without them.  Ten other leadership consultants, who I have seen for only two months of my life, are now categorized as friendships that I know will last a lifetime. Like many others, we don’t talk every day. We don’t see each other on a regular basis and they have never met my family or boyfriend or other friends…but they are with me. We have a bond, because we all did it…and we did it together. They have heard me cry and laugh, and they have shared the same pains and triumphs I have felt. They know my strengths and my weaknesses. They are admirable people, and if I took only one thing away from this experience, I would choose them.

I think I have the best friends in the world.

IMG_0498
Encouragement along the way from many great friends!

“A friend is one that knows you as you are, understands where you have been, accepts what you have become, and still, gently allows you to grow.” – William Shakespeare

Leave a Reply

