My Hope for You, New Initiate

Meghan McFerrin
Meghan McFerrin

This past weekend over 200 amazing young women were initiated into the newly installed Epsilon Mu chapter at the University of Missouri. This is my wish to not only the wonderful new initiates whom I have had the opportunity to work with this semester, but to new Sigma Kappa initiates across the country.

Mizzou initiation 004

I hope that you will stand up for what you believe in, even if no one else around you does.

I hope you will step out of your comfort zone and challenge yourself to try something new.

I hope you will be an advocate for change in your community, your relationships, on your campus, and in the Greek Community.

Greek life is tainted with stereotypes and false impressions. I hope you will rise above what society expects you to be and truly live out the values of the organization as well as your values as an individual.

I hope you will learn more about yourself and not be afraid to let your true colors show. It is the differences, not always the similarities, between you and your fellow initiates that make your chapter truly special.

I hope you will learn to value these differences between you and other members of your chapter. Learn not to pass judgement but celebrate diversity.

Just like I did, you will make mistakes. But I hope you will learn from them and move forward. Always remember that your past does not define you and you have the opportunity to shape what lies ahead.

I hope that you will forgive your friend when she lets you down. You will come to find that no one is the perfect friend all of the time and you too will falter and you too will let her down.

I hope that you will find what you are passionate about and what truly brings you joy. I hope you will share your passion with your chapter and find a way to give back or to enhance your sisters’ lives through it.

Your chapter has its flaws, as all chapters do. I hope you will learn not to complain, but to create solutions.

I hope you will take a new member under your wing one day and encourage her to be the best person she can be. Be a friend and a mentor to her and help her understand what sisterhood truly means.

I hope you will hold yourself to a higher standard- that each day you seek to be better than you were the day before. Hold yourself and your sisters accountable to actively pursing personal growth.

Sometimes you will wonder if being in a sorority is really worth it. I hope you will remember that it is a lifetime journey. Bumps in the road will pass, and you will never regret sticking them out.

You will find your best friends. I hope you make a commitment to never lose touch and always to remain a part of one another’s lives.

Congratulations on becoming a member of Sigma Kappa! Always remember, you get out of your experience what you put into it. I hope you will make the most of being a member of this organization.

Leave a Reply

