On the move: 23

We always live one heart, one way.
Kassy Pierson

Birthdays in my family are a pretty big deal – anyone else agree?! Well, as my 23rd birthday was quickly approaching, I was getting a bit nervous to be away from home on such a personally special day. I should have known better, because as always, Sigma Kappas don’t let a sister down!

The ladies of Beta Mu baked me a cake in the shape of a heart and arranged it, in conjunction with cupcake ice cream cones, on the counter to read “One Heart, One Way.” It was so touching because these women barely knew me, and definitely didn’t have to spend time doing something for me, but they did – simply because I am a sister in Sigma Kappa. Wow – who else can say that besides those of us in the mystic bond?

Now on top of the messages, calls, texts, facebook messages and tweets that floated towards me on February 8 (y’all ROCK!), a surprise package was also delivered: Green cupcakes. The lovely Lindsey Farrow had figured out where I would be traveling on my birthday, contacted the local bakery to order me my favorite cupcakes, called the chapter president to see if she could help deliver them and made sure the plan was implemented. HOW COOL IS THAT?! Our consultant team is one of a kind!

So tasty! Thanks, Linds!

Having sisters that are incredibly thoughful makes not only my birthday special, but makes Sigma Kappa special. It was a great day, and I have this amazing organization to thank for that – you ladies truly do make differences in the lives of women every.single.day. I am always in awe of our sisterhood, and thanks for reminding me why 🙂

❤ the one year older Kassy

Leave a comment